• The new B5TV.COM is here. We've replaced our 16 year old software with flashy new XenForo install. Registration is open again. Password resets will work again. More info here.

The B5 official magazines published by Titan being ripped off

Triple F

Regular
I have a hypothetical question for everyone who is likely to read this thread.

A fair few of you will know the ‘fan site’ I put together for Babylon 5. It’s a long work in progress – a hobby.

One of the reasons why it is so factually based with interviews and the like is because, as a newbie, I couldn’t find much in the way of interesting information on the show, other than jms’s archive of posts.

B5 has largely disappeared from the internet. No new shows are likely to appear in the near future, if ever, and what little merchandise was created for it has long since disappeared off the shelves. Included amongst that is the official B5 magazine from Titan. I mention it because it seemed to have contained a fair bit of information from a wide variety of sources.

I can guess at what the initial knee-jerk reactions to this question will be, but take a breathe for second to think about it first before jumping on my neck twenty different ways.

If someone was to create downloadable pdf’s of the magazines (out of print for what, 8 years?) would anyone else who hasn’t got copies of them find them interesting. Would anyone demand the head of the person doing it on a platter (don’t say jms, WB or Titan would – I’m asking what you think).

I’m sure the person considering this wouldn’t consider doing anything like it for the script books, etc. They cost ‘real’ money to purchase and represent a potential investment for those who like to buy and sell things. But these mags go for less than £1 (about a buck 65) on e-bay and the contents are never likely to be read by 99% of on-line fans.