• The new B5TV.COM is here. We've replaced our 16 year old software with flashy new XenForo install. Registration is open again. Password resets will work again. More info here.

Seasons 4 & 5, what might have been..

I've read some very negative comments about S5 on this board and i don't think people have considered the entire issue. At the start of S4 things looked quite bleak for B5 and Jms thought there wouldn't be a fifth season. Something about UPN and WB networks eating up all the available syndication spots (hell i don't even know what syndication is)
So the great maker decided to plug out some filler stuff and give us fans some kind of conclusion to the story. Being an Engineering student I can this, putting in factors of safety makes your designs a bit bulikier and uglier, but they don't fall down(well , most of the time).
So. S4 ended up being way too rushed an S5 a bit sluggish(haven't seen it yet). Now hat would the original pacing have been: remebering that jms is a master at structuring each season, Just look at how S3 hots up.
We know from LG that Intersections would have been the 4th season finale, so it got compressed by just 4 eps(and what a difference that made to the pace of each ep in the entire season), imagine if there was no pick up and this was the last ever ep of B5.
In the Cinefantastique commerative double issue of B5, David Eagle (director) says Into the fire was gonna be a 2 parter. The LG page for Wolf: jms says the season would have started out a bit slower, so probably the shadow war would have ended by 408.