• The new B5TV.COM is here. We've replaced our 16 year old software with flashy new XenForo install. Registration is open again. Password resets will work again. More info here.

Treme

GKarsEye

Regular
Sunady April 11th premieres the new drama Treme on HBO by The Wire creator David Simon. It's about a New Orleans neighborhood right after Katrina.

I got my HBO subscription back this morning just for this.
Pilot episode will be 80 minutes, and there will be 10 episodes this season. Has the same actor that was Bunk in The Wire as a musician.

i read about this getting made a while back when i was in the dentist, but didn't actually think i'd ever see it get made (i was reading an interview with David Simon and he said he was thinking about this.). it might not be fantastic though, i had severe difficulty getting on with The Corner simply because it was so fucking bleak.

I am looking forward to this series. Unfortunately, I don't have HBO anymore so I will have to go to friends' houses to watch it. It's also too bad that David Mills passed away last week. He was a key writer for The Wire as well as Simon's other shows and projects.

Thanks for the tip, I saw it this evening and it was definitely worth a watch. The characters seemed familiar to me immediatly. No warm-up period to build up background and bemoan bad stories in the meantime in this series, from what I could see.

I will check out the second episode when it airs, that's for certain. I was unhappy when "The No. One Ladies Detective Agency" ended up only being a one-shop mini. This will give me something on HBO to try out on a weekly basis again.

[Spoilers, but minor ones, I think:]
The scene of the robbing of the music store was hilarious to me, as it reminded me completely of a friend of mine. He'd end up getting caught looking for the out of print jazz. :LOL: