• The new B5TV.COM is here. We've replaced our 16 year old software with flashy new XenForo install. Registration is open again. Password resets will work again. More info here.

Sleeping in Light - Music Question

Hi guys,

I suppose slightly (though not much) off-topic.

The family sat down tonight and watched "Dragonheart" ... you know the one with Sean Connery as the voice of a friendly (though still pretty scary looking) dragon.

At the end, when the dragon dies and floats away into the ether, the music theme playing is almost identical to the theme playing when B5 is destroyed in SiL. Although slightly different in instrumentation and power (subjective opinion!), melodically it is the same - and in the context of the movie I guess the moment carries a similar level of significance.

The movie was scored by Randy Edelman, and pre-dates SiL by a year or so.

Now it is a minor issue, and as a musician I know that there are only so many original tunes in the world, but this was so similar that it leapt out at me straight away, and I was a tad disappointed to see that one of my favourite pieces of B5 music was apparently recycled by CF from the work of another composer.

It's not going to spoil my enjoyment of the episode, or that piece of music, as and when I get around to watching it again, it just seems a shame that he didn't try a bit harder to give us something that wasn't almost identical to something else for such a key moment at the end of the show.

/forums/images/icons/frown.gif

Rant over ... we now return you to your nomal service.

/forums/images/icons/smile.gif