• The new B5TV.COM is here. We've replaced our 16 year old software with flashy new XenForo install. Registration is open again. Password resets will work again. More info here.

Shadow Culture

Morden

Regular
A hallmark of Babylon 5 has always been humanity's exploration of culture. In contrast to Star Trek, which ventured into humanity's exploration of technology, and Star Wars, which ventured into humanity's exploration of ethics/spirituality.

As a fan, Babylon 5 has steeped me in alien cultures. I know more about the Centauri culture than I do about the Chinese culture. I know more about the Narn than the North Koreans. I'd even take my knowledge of the Lumati culture over what I know about my neighbor Canadians.
Earth, Minbari, Centauri, Narn, Vorlons, and the League of Non-Alinged Worlds - I'm a sociological expert. I can talk art, humanities, values, and civilization like I'm an interstellar Karl Marx. However, when it comes to the Shadows, I know even less about their culture than I do the unheralded Vree.

Despite nearly every episode title between season 2-3 referencing the Shadows, there is a scant amount we know about the qualities in their society. Are they an elder race? Of course. Secretive, like their fellow shepherds, the Vorlons? Naturally. Darwinian? Sure.

Do we have anything else?

Yes, there are pieces we know of Shadow culture, chiefly from "Z'Ha'Dum." Their name is 10,000 letters long, and the cities were built underground as a security measure. They come out every few thousand years and kick over all the anthills. The sounds on their planet - from the oxygenation of a chamber to a door opening - are hair raising. Also, they love to utilize associations to work covertly within alien government. Psi Corps, President Clarke, the Wind Swords, and even our own Londo Mollari can attest to their powerful persuasiveness.